ABBA – Voyage [2021]

ABBA Voyage Track List

Voyage is the ninth studio album by Swedish band ABBA, released on November 5, 2021 via Polar Music and Universal Music Group N.V. This is the longest hiatus between album releases in the music world. The previous one, The Visitors, came out in 1981. Benny Andersson, Anni-Frid Lyngstad (Frida), Agnetha Fältskog and Björn Ulvaeus had the idea for a holographic concert in 2016. In September 2017, the musicians announced that they had created digital avatars for a group called ABBAtars. They will appear during ABBA Voyage concerts instead of the four real band members. Motion capture suits and 160 cameras were used to bring the avatar to life, and graphics were added by American visual effects studio Industrial Light & Magic, founded by George Lucas. In 2018, the artists announced that they had recorded two songs – I Still Have Faith in You and Don’t Shut Me Down, which were officially released as singles for the new album on September 2, 2021, along with the presentation of Voyage. The first track is a piano ballad dedicated to the friendship between musicians, and the second is about love in the spirit of the greatest hits from ABBA. On October 22, 2021, the third single, Just a Notion, was released, originally written and produced for the Voulez-Vous album (1979). He retained the vocals from 1978, but received updated instrumental parts that are currently being added. The first ABBAtars performance with a 10-member live band at the purpose-built 3,000-seat ABBA Arena in London's Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park will take place on May 27, 2022, during a grand show.

Similar Albums