Blutengel – Damokles [2019]

Blutengel Damokles Track List

  1. The Haunting (Prelude)
  2. Damokles
  3. Disobedience
  4. The Search
  5. Strong
  6. Briefe an Dich
  7. Strong (Remixed by Caisaron)
  8. Another Dream
  9. Hourglass of Life
  10. Fire and Ice
  11. Stardust
  12. Running Away
  13. Hourglass of Life (Massive Ego Remix)

2019 was a very fruitful year for the German gothic band Blutengel. Releasing in mid-February, the successful full-length album Un: Gott, which finished second in the German charts, the band ends the year with a new mini-album, Damokles. It was released on November 1 on the Out of Line Music label in two versions: a standard CD, including 7 tracks and a limited-edition collector's edition of the double disc, in the second part of which “Un: Gott – The Lost Chapters” contains an additional six songs. They were written by Chris Paul for the previous album, but were ultimately not included in it. “Damokles” cannot be called outstanding in the career of musicians, rather, it is a revelation album, the creation of which was caused by a desire to share their deepest fears with fans. Lyrics, as usual, were written by Chris in both German and English. The mood of the album is set by “The Haunting (Prelude)” – a short, rather gloomy intrinsic to darkwave, with an imitation of a “trumpet voice”, church bells and a dark background rhythm. The next track reveals the lyrical content of the album, according to the musician, in it “fear of what may come or will come.” Electronic sound, synth-pop, catchy choruses – nostalgia for industrial music, a return to the style of the 80s. In general, Damokles is a worthy album, which, along with previous hits by Blutengel, will present during its spring tour of Germany and at a concert in Moscow.

Similar Albums