Erdling – Helheim [2021]

Erdling Helheim Track List

Helheim is the fifth studio album by German dark and gothic metal band Erdling, Neue Deutsche Härte, was released on December 3, 2021 via Out of Line Music. Mesmerizing metal riffs, powerful lyrics and fantastic live performances are the result of the quartet's hard work. Musically, Erdling is guided by their previous album, Yggdrasil (2020), with which the band reached creative heights. The title of the new album Helheim refers us to the darkest and most disastrous place, which is rarely mentioned in Germanic mythology. Here, everyone who has become victims of disease and deceit is hell, purgatory with its gloomy eternal existence. Souls come here, which will be erased from the memories of the people forever. Founder and vocalist of the band Neill Freiwald stressed that in the light of recent events, he sees Helheim not as a place of punishment and dishonor, but as exile for all those who were deservedly thrown out of public life. The first single, Fimbulwinter, was released on June 8, 2021. This mid-tempo song featuring singer Julie Elven is about isolation and a sense of worthlessness, but also a glimmer of hope. On August 27, 2021, the music video for the Rabenherz single was filmed, and in early October, shortly before the album's premiere, the lyric video Götterdämmerung was filmed. Like the first two albums, the project was again produced by Chris Harms from Lord of the Lost.

Similar Albums