Ghost – Impera [2022]

Ghost Impera Track List

Impera is the fifth studio album by the Swedish rock band Ghost, released on March 11, 2022 via Loma Vista Recordings. Ghost is easily recognizable on stage due to his eccentric image. Seven of the group's eight members are Nameless Ghouls who wear the same face-hiding costumes. Until 2017, lead singer Tobias Forge also hid his identity under the guise of the character Papa Emeritus. According to the frontman, the idea for Impera came about in 2013 after reading a book by Timothy Parsons about the birth, rise and fall of empires. This became the leitmotif of the piece. The Ghost team started recording the album in January 2020 and planned to record it by the end of the summer of that year. And the presentation itself was being prepared for the end of the US presidential election in order to attract the maximum attention of the public. According to an established tradition, a unique character appears in each new album, this time it was Papa Emeritus IV. But the pandemic made its own adjustments, and the album was released only in 2022. On September 30, 2021, the band released their first single Hunter's Moon. Later, two more singles were recorded – Call Me Little Sunshine (January 20, 2022) and Twenties (March 2, 2022). In January 2022, Ghost began a joint North American tour with Danish metal band Volbeat called Imperatour. During their show in Reno, the band performed the second song from the Kaisarion album for the first time and introduced new steampunk costumes for the Nameless Ghouls. Impera was produced by Klas Åhlund and mixed by Andy Wallace with cover art by Zbigniew Bielak.

Similar Albums