Ghost – Prequelle [2018]

Ghost Prequelle Track List

  1. Ashes
  2. Rats
  3. Faith
  4. See the Light
  5. Miasma
  6. Dance Macabre
  7. Pro Memoria
  8. Witch Image
  9. Helvetesfönster
  10. Life Eternal

On June 1, 2018, the Swedish band Ghost released their fourth studio album “Prequelle” via Loma Vista Recording, with the motto “Better Late Than Never.” It included 10 compositions, with a total duration of about 42 minutes. A year before this release, during the lawsuits, the name of the leader of the group, which remained unknown for a long time, became known. After the end of the process, frontman Tobias Forge noted that everything that had happened only inspired him to continue working to achieve greater success for the group. The result was “Prequelle”, shortly after its release, which took 3rd place on the Billboard 200 chart. It is rather difficult to determine the genre of the album unequivocally. Rather, it is an alternative pop rock, a kind of pop metal, with elements of heavy metal, doom metal, prog and art rock. It is noteworthy that the group, at the same time as the stage image of its leader changed, also moved away from the lyrical component that was unacceptable to many. The album focuses on one topic – the theme of the Great Plague, but the main emphasis is on music. Always talented, she has a special harmony and melody. Bass guitars, guitars, drums, characteristic of heavy metal, wonderfully combine with piano, flute, strings, incredible saxophone, synthesizer and even organ. Beautiful guitar solos are replaced by high-tech, energetic, often aggressive reefs, everything is intertwined into catchy, large-scale music. Especially successful in this regard are atmospheric tracks without solo – “Miasma” and “Helvetesfonster”, and “Dance Macabre” causes nostalgia for rock music of the 80s. Due to the variety of material, the album is easy to listen to, and the emerging departure from the themes of past works by Ghost is welcome.

Similar Albums