Insomnium – Heart Like a Grave [2019]

Insomnium Heart Like a Grave Track List

Heart Like a Grave, the eighth studio album by Finnish melodic death metal band Insomnium, featuring rejoining guitarist Jani Liimatainen, was released on October 4, 2019 via Century Media Records. The appearance of another artist turned the group into a quintet, and the third guitarist took Insomnium's creativity to a whole new level. The band members themselves stated that the concept of Heart Like A Grave is a Finnish melancholy with an admixture of grief and loss that has become more evident. The first track Wail of the North tells the story of an impending disaster that will happen later. If you look at this song from the point of view of nature, this is the beginning of autumn, when the wind becomes colder and the nights are longer, and everything on earth is getting ready for sleep. The track begins with a melodic guitar solo. Frontman Niilo Sevänen then talks about the tragedy ending at an open black grave accompanied by the gloomy sounds of a piano, which is easily recognizable as the hand of arranger Aleksi Munter, who worked on previous projects. Without giving a breath, Valediction hits the listener like a hailstorm in July. This is the first single from the album. It is quite obvious why he was chosen first. The song itself is classic Insomnium: fast, melodic and aggressive with a hint of hope. Filmed by Vesa Ranta himself, the video takes place in a wooden cottage in the woods, showing majestic Finnish landscapes. By a strange coincidence, the release of this song coincided with the start of a fire in the Amazon rainforest. This is the longest album from the band's catalog to date.

Similar Albums