Nothing But Thieves – Moral Panic [2020]

Nothing But Thieves Moral Panic Track List

Moral Panic is the third studio album by British alternative rock band Nothing but Thieves, released on October 23, 2020 via Sony Music UK. Despite hints in the title and lyrics of the songs that tell of the end of days, the album itself was written before the dystopian era of 2020. Compositions Unperson and Is Everybody Going Crazy? opens the album with immense force, each of which draws on influences from earlier work, combining a catchy chorus with distortion and reverb, while revealing the broadest vocal range of lead singer Conor Mason. On the fourth track, Real Love Song, the quintet pays homage to their 80s gothic rock colleagues, and especially Nick Cave. The eponymous single Phobia is a majestic anthem that defies everything the band has done in the previous track. Reaching a heavier finale, the quintet once again proves its divine rock status, as the song plunges the listener into a much darker chaos. While the first half of the album boasts tracks that inspire admiration, the middle of the album starts to drift. The tracks This Feels Like The End and There Was Sun seem simply lifeless. But everything changes when the penultimate song Can You Afford To Be An Individual? Is played, acting as a vivid opposite of the rest of the album. A funny, funny and energetic song that does something completely unthinkable – without a doubt one of the best songs on the album. In its true style, Nothing But Thieves plays the last track. Using a special velvet sound, Conor Mason speaks of agony and a long-lost love. Before We Drift Away is a worthy completion of the disc.

Similar Albums