Sonata Arctica – Talviyö [2019]

Sonata Arctica Talviyö Track List

Talviyö is the tenth studio album by Finnish power metal band Sonata Arctica, released on September 6, 2019 via Nuclear Blast Records. Twenty years have passed since the release of the first and one of the most successful works – Ecliptica (1999). During this time, there was only one thing left that Tony Kakko together with his team could never do – it is to stop there. Talviyö is produced by Mikko Tegelman and the band's staff. The album starts off with a few fast tracks: Message from the Sun to the beat of a classic power track with a double beat, Whirlwind and Cold – classic groovy 80s rock with a catchy bridge and chorus anthem. In subsequent songs, this tempo is reduced. There is a feeling that each next song on the album is getting slower and slower. This continues until the embarrassing Who Failed the Most and the completely ordinary but aggressively repetitive Demon's Cage. The organs, which sounded amazing at Reckoning Night (2016), look pretty flat in A Little Less Understanding. Continuing to lower the intensity, we reach the very sleepy The Raven Still Flies and The Garden. The real Finnish night is falling.

Similar Albums