The Neighbourhood – Chip Chrome & The Mono-Tones [2020]

The Neighbourhood Chip Chrome & The Mono-Tones Track List

Chip Chrome & The Mono-Tones is the fourth studio album by American alt-rock band The Neighborhood, released on September 25, 2020 via Columbia Records. It is a conceptual work inspired by frontman Jesse Rutherford's struggles with social media out-of-control and group identity issues. For this, a new character was invented: the silver alien Chip Chrome with his mysterious band The Mono-Tones. The album opens with a somewhat strange 30-second instrumental composition with disorienting synthesizers and the simple title Chip Chrome. A mesmerizing vocal performance by the Pretty Boy frontman as he pours out his soul to the person he loves. Lost in Translation begins with the sample Wish That You Were Mine from R&B The Manhattans and turns into a fun and groovy dance track. Another cherry on top is Devil's Advocate with its drums and catchy guitar riffs. When the band amplifies the guitar sound, it creates a powerful Hell or High Water with its Spongebob Squarepants vibes. Cherry-Flavored was a great first single for this album. Guitars became the highlight of this track again. The Mono-Tones is an interlude track with strange and harsh vocals that would sound much better in a female performance. BooHoo challenges the rest of the tracks. It gets rid of the sullen sound of guitars and replaces it with an energetic R&B instrumental sound with its synthesizers and vocal effects. Silver Lining takes us back to acoustic drums and reverb-soaked guitars. The longest and very slowest song on the album is Tobacco Sunset. Chip Chrome & The Mono-Tones ends with Middle of Somewhere featuring a variety of acoustic guitars and synthesizers, electronic sounds and great backing vocals. In addition to the simple album, there is an extended version, which includes four more songs.

Similar Albums